Daily Archives: February 15, 2011

Social Bookmarking

Standard

Social Bookmarking

Increasingly I have found that  a lot of the educational research and reading I do is now done online. In the past I would have saved any web sites that I found interesting to my computer using bookmarks. However the more reading I did the more difficult it became to manage these bookmarks and find what I needed.

I would end up in a big bookmark mess.

That is until I discovered Social Bookmarking.

So what’s it all about?

‘Social bookmarking is the practice of saving bookmarks to a public Web site and “tagging” them with keywords. Bookmarking, on the other hand, is the practice of saving the address of a Web site you onto your computer’

Bookmarks appear in dated order and the tags will help you to find the bookmarks you want.

For me the real strength of social bookmarking is that it changes the way you organise your work. Users can easily make connections with other individuals, join groups and create groups in just about any topic.

Some social bookmarking sites are listed below.

Delicious Google Bookmarks

Diigo PosterousDigg Zotera

When you sign up you have the option to can add the toolbar to your browser which makes adding bookmarks easy to do. You can also create a profile to share with others what your interests are and add an avatar.

I found using social bookmarking easy to use and it doesn’t take too long at all to start building up your library, join groups and start connecting with others. Happy social bookmarking everyone.

Image attribution: heyjudegallery: Flickr